Chippenham is a busy market town on the River Avon with many historic buildings, including the Buttercross in the Market Place (near the Museum). Markets are held on Friday and Saturday. Initially developing as a crossing point of the river, it expanded when the Great Western Railway opened. The Bus Station is ½ mile from the Rail Station.
Housed in an 18th century townhouse, the Museum covers the development of Chippenham and its links to the
river, roads and railway, including links to Alfred the Great and Isambard Kingdom Brunel.
Temporary exhibitions and events programme. Tel. 01249 705020. Admission free.
Open M-S 1000-1600.
A medieval timber-framed building orginally used as a market hall.
Today it is used as a gallery for exhibitions. Admission free.
Open FS 1030-1530. Closed for refurbishment in 2017.
The picturesque and unspoilt village of Lacock with its timber-framed cottages is mostly owned by the National Trust
and remains a bustling community with several independent shops and businesses. Lacock is pronounced 'Laycock'.
Bus X34 from Bus Station (½ mile from Rail Station) to Lacock, George Inn. 13 minutes journey, M-S hourly (more ½-hourly at times M-F). Operated by Faresaver.
Stay in Lacock: National Trust Holiday cottage.
Lacock Abbey was founded in 1232 by Ela of Salisbury and has been converted from a nunnery
into a family residence with a homely feel in the furnished rooms (closed in winter). A highlight is the peaceful monastic cloister.
The Abbey is surrounded by wooded grounds with a botanic garden, orchard and greenhouse.
The Museum celebrates William Henry Fox Talbot who created the first photographic negative.
Tearoom. Tel. 01249 730459.
Open Mar-Oct, Daily 1030-1700. Nov-Feb, Daily 1100-1600, Great Hall SSu only, furnished rooms closed.
Bus see Lacock above.