Leigh-on-Sea is known locally as Leigh (pronounced 'Lee'). Much of the Old Town of Leigh was demolished to make way for the railway which runs along the coast between here and Chalkwell. Once the railway had arrived the town developed rapidly on the higher ground north of the railway. Leigh-on-Sea has a small sandy beach beyond the Heritage Centre, just over ½ mile from the station.
Leigh-on-Sea PlusBus tickets cover bus travel in the large urban area around Southend-on-Sea stretching from Leigh-on-Sea to Shoeburyness.
A small museum in the Smithy of Leigh Old Town covering the history of the town.
Restored fisherman's cottage. Admission free, donations welcome.
Open Mar-Dec, Daily 1000-1400 but subject to volunteer availability.
Two Tree Island was reclaimed from the sea for farming in the 18th century.
It is now managed as a nature reserve and a good place for birdwatching, including wildfowl and waders.
A field is used for flying model aircraft, see warning notices. Admission free.
Open at all times.
The picturesque ruins of Hadleigh Castle stand on a hill overlooking the Thames Estuary,
only a tower and some outer walls remain. Admission free.
Open any reasonable time.
Hadleigh Farm was part of the Salvation Army's pioneering social programme to empower people living in poverty and
experiencing long term unemployment. Today the Rare Breeds Centre and its café are part of their training centre and open to the public.
Guided walks of the estate.
Open Apr-Sep, TWThFSSu 1030-1600 (1700 SSu and school holidays).
The Country Park is a mixture of woodland, grassland and marsh with good views over the Thames Estuary.
Download a map from the website showing waymarked trails. Café and replica Iron Age Roundhouse at northern end, 2¼ miles from station.
Open Daily 0800-dusk.
The western end of the Country Park is ¼ mile from Benfleet station.