Par is a small town and fishing port with a harbour. The sandy beach is ¾ mile by footpath from the station, passing through Par Beach Nature Reserve which consists of sand dunes, reed beds and lagoons. The tall chimneys of the china clay works can be clearly seen from the beach. There is a small woodland nature reserve north of the station. Par is the junction for the branch line to Newquay.
If you plan to book a self-catering cottage in the countryside or a small village check the location carefully and remember to plan your grocery shopping.
A 3 acre water and woodland garden in a former tidal creek.
Herbaceous borders, formal enclosed garden, sunken garden with bog plants and a large pond.
Tel. 01726 815920.
Open Apr-Sep, MTWSu 1000-1800.
Visitors can explore their relationship with nature in the biomes (huge greenhouses) and gardens.
The world's largest rainforest in captivity with steamy jungles and waterfalls.
Garden displays, sculpture and art. Education centre with hands-on exhibits. Play areas. Zip wire.
Cafés and restaurants. Tel. 01726 811972.
Discount for visitors arriving by public transport.
Open Daily 1000-1600 (later in summer), last entry 1½ hours before closing. Occasional closures in winter, please check website.
Walking/cycling route from station: a leaflet showing walking and cycling routes is available to download from www.claytrails.co.uk (look for 'Par Beach to Eden Project').
The Eden Project is 2½ miles from Luxulyan and there are buses from St Austell.
An attractive small town and port at the mouth of the River Fowey with narrow streets and historic buildings in the town centre. Ferries operate to the ancient fishing village of Polruan on the opposite side of the estuary. Fowey is pronounced 'Foy'.
TI 5 South Street. Tel. 01726 833616.
Bus 24/25 from near station (from both sides of road - check timetables) to Fowey Safe Harbour Hotel, 13 minutes journey, from there it is a short walk downhill to the town centre and quay. M-S hourly (with extra journeys), Sun & BH 2-hourly. Operated by First.
A small museum in one of the oldest buildings in the town, dating back to the 15th century.
Displays and exhibits cover the history of the harbour and town, including boat building tools.
Open Easter-Sep, M-F 1030-1630.
Bus see Fowey above.
Marine life found around the Cornish coast including crab, lobster and many species of fish.
Touch pool. Tel. 07753 254736.
Open Apr-Sep, Daily 1030-1600 (1700 Jun-Aug).
Bus see Fowey above.
The remains of one of a pair of small forts built by Henry VIII to protect Fowey Harbour.
Open any reasonable time.
Bus see Fowey above, then ¾ mile walk.