visitbytrain.info - a station-by-station guide for UK tourist attractions
Warwick is an attractive and historic town on the River Avon, famous for its Castle. A great fire in 1694 destroyed much of Warwick's town centre and many of the elegant 17th and 18th century replacement buildings can be seen today. Picturesque 15th and 16th century buildings survive in places such as Smith Street and Mill Street. The town's medieval Eastgate stands at the top of Smith Street.
Warwick has several parks near the town centre. Priory Park is managed for wildlife and makes a pleasant route from near the station. St Nicholas Park (½ mile) has floral displays, amusements, play areas and riverside walks. Behind the Tourist Information Centre is the walled Pageant Garden.
The Bus Station is ¾ mile from the Rail Station.
Make sure you alight at Warwick station, NOT Warwick Parkway as this is outside the town.
Warwick is pronounced 'Warrick' (the second w is silent).
TI Court House, tel. 01926 492212.
A fine medieval castle with over 1000 years of history and much to see and do.
Features include the magnificent Great Hall, State Rooms, Chapel, Medieval towers and ramparts, and Dungeons (extra charge).
The grounds include a Victorian Garden, Maze, Victorian Mill and Engine House, plus birds of prey displays and seige machine
demonstrations on selected days. Restaurant. Events programme.
Tel. 0870 442 0200.
Open Daily 1000-1600 (later in summer and for some events).
www.warwick-castle.com | www.warwickcastlebreaks.com
The 18th century Court House contains the Tourist Information Centre and displays covering the Great Fire
of Warwick in 1694 which destroyed much of the town centre. Behind the Court House is the walled Pageant Garden, a public park.
Tel. 01926 492212. Admission free.
Open M-F 0930-1630, SSu 1000-1600.
Situated in the basement of the Court House, the museum covers the history of the regiment from
1794 to 1956 with uniforms, weapons, medals and other memorabilia. Tel. 01926 492212. Admission free.
Open SSu & BH 1000-1600.
The large St Mary's Church dominates Warwick's skyline. Features include Norman foundations in the crypt,
the magnificent medieval Beauchamp Chapel and the Tower with spectacular views over the castle and town.
Tel. 01926 403940. Admission free (except Tower), donations welcomed.
Open Daily 1000-1630 but please check website for events.
The 17th century Market Hall houses collections reflecting the history of Warwickshire from
prehistoric times to the present day. Highlights include a Tapestry Map of Warwickshire, a large Roman coin hoard
and an ancient Irish Giant Deer skeleton. Café. Tel. 01926 412501. Admission free.
Open TWThFS (also Sun Apr-Sep) 1000-1700.
Picturesque 14th amd 15th century timber-framed buildings around a medieval galleried courtyard.
Originally a meeting place for guilds, the buildings were purchased in 1540 by Robert Dudley, Earl of Leycester, to
found a hospice for retired warriors. The Brethen give tours in their ceremonial uniform. Features include the
12th century chapel, Master's Garden and Tudor Knot Garden. Regimental Museum of the Queen's Own Hussars.
Breakfast, light lunches and cream teas in the medieval Brethren's Kitchen.
Tel. 01926 491422.
Open TWThFSSu & BH 1000-1700 (1600 in winter).
Enclosed gardens used by Victorian people living above their businesses in Warwick. The 16 gardens
have been restored to their Victorian heyday. Tearoom (summer weekends only). Tel. 01926 493339.
Open Apr-Oct, Daily 1100-1700. Nov-Mar, M-F 1100-1600.
A new museum planned to open in 2018. Admission free.
Open please check website.
A fine Jacobean house containing two museums. On the ground floor, a social history museum reflecting the
lives of Warwickshire people over the past 300 years. On the first floor, the Royal Warwickshire Regiment of Fusiliers Museum.
Garden. Tel. 01926 412069 (491653 for Fusiliers Museum).
Open Apr-Oct, M-S & BH 1000-1700. Nov-Mar, TWThFSSu 1000-1600.
heritage.warwickshire.gov.uk | www.warwickfusiliers.com
An attractive and colourful garden beside the castle walls. Riverside views,
including remains of Warwick's old bridge.
Open Apr-Oct, Daily 0900-1800.
Historic landscaped parkland with sheep, deer and views across the River Avon. It has been home to the Lucy
family for 900 years and parts of the House are open in summer with a collection of treasures from the family's European travels.
Victorian Kitchen and outbuildings. Stables with carriage collection. Gardens. Tearoom. Tel. 01789 470277.
Open Daily 1000-1700 (1600 Nov-Feb), House by timed tickets 1130-1530 Apr-Oct only.
Bus 15 from Bus Station (¾ mile from Rail Station) to Charlecote Pheasant, shortly after Barford. 20 minutes journey, M-S hourly, Sun & BH 2-hourly. Operated by Stagecoach.
Buses also operate from Stratford-upon-Avon.
Stay in Charlecote Park Turret: National Trust Holiday apartment.
A watermill still working as a commercial mill producing stoneground flours and retaining the
atmosphere of a traditional Victorian mill. Refreshments. Tel. 01789 842072.
Open see website for open days.
Bus see Charlecote Park above, the Mill is ½ mile from the bus stops.