Amberley village is 1 mile north of the station. The castle which can be seen from the train is a hotel and not open to the public as a tourist attraction. Amberley is pronounced 'Amberlee'.
An excellent open-air industrial history centre in an old chalk quarry. Blacksmith, potter
and other craftspeople at work. Electricity hall, print workshop, narrow-gauge railway, vintage bus rides
and much more. Restaurant and picnic area.
Open Easter-Oct, WThFSSu (Daily in school holidays) 1000-1700.
The remains of a Roman home with mosaic floors. A museum room tells the story of the
discovery and excavation of the Villa with objects found on the site. Tearoom.
Open Apr-Oct, MFSSu (Daily in Aug) 1000-1700.
It is a long but pleasant walk to the Villa, following the West Sussex Literary Trail beside the River Arun and through the picturesque village of Bury, all in the South Downs National Park.